Cinnamon – The Mint without a hole

Most of you would have seen the Polo ad – ‘The Mint with a hole’. If not, see this link. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjJIQY6l9v4

While going through the Distrowatch website (http://distrowatch.com/), I have noticed many times that, there is a section on the home page of this website that ranks the Linux distros based on the number of times the Home pages corresponding to these distros are clicked (Page Hit Ranking).

Most often I observed, Rank No.1 is given to Mint (an average of 3000+ hits per day). For some reason, I ignored this distro while trying to look for the best one (Refer to my earlier blog – “In pursuit of perfect Linux Distro”).

As usual, my requirements for a new distro I am looking out for are:

  • Easy to install and upgrade
  • Beautiful, attractive friendly User Interface
  • Robust and stable
  • Apps and packages are up to date

Last week, I tried out rolling release of Netrunner (http://www.netrunner.com/). it was ranked 35 on the Distrowatch website. The distro met the first 3 of my 4 requirements but I was facing issue upgrading the packages and installing new app. I tried my best to fix pacman (by searching and trying out solutions on forums, Internet etc) but could not do it with my level of knowledge. Hence, I could not keep Netrunner on my laptop for long.

Once again, I visited the Distrowatch website to see what I can install in place (read it as partitions) of Netrunner. This time, I was closely studying the page hit rankings. I made a quick decision to go with the Rank 1 distro – Mint.

I looked at couple of reviews on the Internet on the latest version of Mint (17.2) and quickly visited the Linux Mint home page (http://linuxmint.com/) and downloaded the 32 bit ISO image of Cinnamon DE using torrent. After writing the LIVE usb, I rebooted using the usb and checked out the same.

The Cinnamon edition of Mint 17.2 known as Rafaela uses Linux kernel 3.16 and an Ubuntu 14.04 package as a base. It also gives LTS till 2019. The look and feel of Cinnamon was excellent and easy to use. It looks familiar and similar to KDE.

I installed on my laptop overwriting the /home and root(/) partitions of Netrunner with Mint Cinnamon.

I found Cinnamon pre-installed with of apps, tools and highly customizable.  After running the below upgrade scripts,  I installed Google Chrome from the website (http://www.google.com/chrome/).

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

After this, I configured my desktop background and Desklets (added Digital clock and Weather widget on desktop). I also installed Cairo Dock (cairo-dock) from the Software Manager

So far the distro has not given any issues or difficulties and easily my best distro till date. Since, there are no issues, I felt this is a Mint without any holes/loopholes.

Some screen shots of my desktop:

Screenshot from 2015-09-27 11:21:30

Screenshot from 2015-09-27 11:31:41

Screenshot from 2015-09-27 11:34:16

Screenshot from 2015-09-27 11:37:45

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon – The Mint without a hole

  1. As usual nice blog !! What caught my attention is Srini added a poetic touch, when he mentioned that Linux Mint is ‘Mint without a hole’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

